Breaking Up with Microsoft and Windows

Update: 1-Sept-2015

The year 1998 was a magical year; I was introduced to computers. Prior to that, I had no idea that such machines existed, and rightfully so as I was just 9 years old and we didn’t have computers in Iraq at that time. Since then, I’ve used Windows 95, 98, 2000, XP, Vista, and finally, Windows 7. Recently, Microsoft has been making business decisions that are far too controversial. As such, I’m ending my 17-year relationship with Windows.

I am permanently migrating to Manjaro Linux. I was introduced to Linux by mere accident in 2008 while randomly browsing websites, and was both dumbfounded and delighted by the fact that there exist free operating systems. One could almost say it was a revelation. Suffice to say that I got enthusiastic and decided to try Ubuntu 8.04 (Hardy Heron) no matter what the challenges were. It took me a while to realize that there was a thing called dual-booting, and I had no notion of Live USBs and virtual machines back then, so dual-booting with Wubi was the safest and only choice. Since then, I’ve used Linux desktop and server editions from different distros (aka distributions) to an extent that I feel comfortable to abandon Windows and fully transition to Linux.

Coming back to the main topic: I chose Manjaro Linux KDE (K Desktop Environment). Migration will take place on September 1st, 2015 as I need to create a full image backup of Windows 7 first. Time to claim back what’s left of my privacy.

Thank you for reading!

Leave a Reply

