6 Sides

  Last updated: July 2015
 
Today, I brought my 3x3x3 Rubik’s Cube with me to class. I knew I will arrive early to class, so I thought I might as well bring it along to waste time until the lecturers arrive.

So it happened – I arrived early and started fiddling with my cube like I always do, solved it a couple of times although the solving part is (to me) the boring part. I know, weird. The fun part is in making up my own pattern algorithms.

Around 30 minutes before class ended, the cube traveled from one person to another. Some showed genuine puzzled reactions when holding the cube, while a few showed fake piece of cake kind of reaction, while in reality not actually having a clue what they’re doing. Some others showed neutral reactions, perhaps for  their lack of interest. They can’t be blamed. It’s only for nerds like me. Anyway, someone proposed the easiest way to solve it – hit it hard on a wall or floor of choice. Hey, this method definitely beats the 7-second world record solve! However, I do not intend to try it.

___

I had this idea a long time ago, I wanted to buy the 4x4x4 Rubik’s Cube (also known as Rubik’s Revenge) but I must learn new algorithms because the algorithms for 3x3x3 cube no longer apply for the 4x4x4 cube.  The algorithm learning part is not a problem because the challenge is the fun part in itself of course. So I am not sure whether I want to buy it or not.

Therefore, due to the to buy or not to buy state I have been in for several months, I invite you the reader to vote in my poll to aid me in my decision whether or not I should buy this 4x4x4 Rubik’s Cube.

 

Update: I bought the cube.

Lastly, I will leave you with this quote:

“We turn the Cube and it twists us – Erno Rubik.”

Leave a Reply

